Past of The Future #3: Sergiño Dest

@AjaxYA
5 min readSep 19, 2019

--

In ‘Past of The Future’, we will tell a story of an Ajax talent. Where did he grow up? What are his dreams? How did he get into the Ajax Academy? In this third episode: Sergiño Dest.

Sergiño Dest made huge steps in his development last season. He broke through in the U19’s in 2018, after a difficult phase. After the summer (2018), he quickly joined the U21’s. His rapid development earned him a well-earned contract just after his 18th birthday. In the meantime, Dest has continued his development this summer during pre-season. He made a big impression and is becoming a serious option for coach Erik ten Hag.

YOUTH

Sergiño grew up in Almere. He started playing football at the local club FC Omniworld, now known as Almere City. He was allowed to come to Ajax for a trial at quite a young age (10 years old). He was not selected to join the academy after his first trial, but one year later he proved himself and joined Ajax. “During my time in the U10-11’s I was invited for trials at three clubs: Ajax, PSV and FC Utrecht. During my first trial I came to the final round, but I was not selected to join the academy. Fortunately I was chosen for the U12’s the following year after another trial.” [Ajax TV, January 2019]

AJAX

This season (2019–2020) will be Dest’s 7th season at Ajax. His development is going very well and he has had some impressive moments, especially the last two years. “It didn’t go very well in my first year at the club. I was quite impressed by the club and my teammates. I didn’t dare to be myself. Since they told me that, I’ve always remained myself. I think I can say that I have developed well over the years. Of course there were also some bad moments, but I learned to deal with that well.”

Some of Dest’s personal highlights at Ajax:
August 2012: First year at Ajax
September 2017: Debut Ajax U19
October 2018: Debut Ajax U21 & professional football
November 2018: First goal for Ajax U21 & in professional football
December 2018: First contract at Ajax
Summer 2019: Pre-season with the first team
July 2019: Official first team debut (Johan Cruyff Schaal — Super Cup, v PSV)
August 2019: Eredivisie debut (v FC Emmen)
August 2019: European debut (v PAOK — UCL Play Off)
August 2019: Eredivisie starting XI debut (v VVV Venlo)
September 2019: (Starting) Debut for USMNT (friendly v Mexico)
September 2019: Extending his contract until 2022 (+ one additional year)
September 2019: UEFA Champions League debut (v Lille)

I’m really proud of where I am at the moment. I still have a long way to go, but I want to achieve it.” Dest is feeling home at Ajax and cares a lot about the club. “I’ve been playing here since 2012 already. It’s such a beautiful club. It’s my second home. I have already experienced many beautiful moments and I hope that I will experience many more beautiful things here in the future. I wanted to sign a contract here for so long. That has finally happened in December [2018].” [AjaxTV, January 2019]

AMERICAN DUTCHIE

Due to his father’s nationality, Sergiño can play for both America and the Netherlands. However, the defender has never been called up for the Dutch youth teams while he did play for USA U17’s and U20’s. As long as he has not played an official match for either country, he can still switch. Recently he even indicated a number of times that the Netherlands is still a serious option for him and that he will talk soon with the KNVB. “I am half American, half Dutch. And I also have Surinamese family. My father is American and was in the army. He has been there for 24 years, really a very long time. I have a lot of respect for him for what he has done.” Dest trains a lot individually with his father. “The last two years I also train more intensively for myself. I want to get better and keep myself fit. I notice that it works during matches. I feel that I am more fit. I don’t necessarily have to be big, because I want to have the power inside. I want to have explosive power in my arms and legs. I am an explosive player, I have good technology and I am creative as well”, he describes himself. [Ajax TV, January 2019]

“When I was in the U17’s, I was allowed to go to the American team for the first time. I was able to show myself positively in particular at the U17 World Cup.” On September 7th (2019) he made his debut for the USMNT in a friendly against Mexico (0–3 loss).

FUTURE & DREAMS

Sergiño’s dream is to become an ‘irreplaceable player’ and to win the biggest prizes out there. “I often played football on the streets in the neighbourhood. It was just something extra and not too heavy in addition to the training sessions. I want to become a unique player and a player who is irreplaceable. Furthermore, my dream is to win the World Cup and the UEFA Champions League.”

After an incredible year, Sergiño extended his contract in September 2019 already. His first contract was signed December 2018. In the same month, September 2019, he made his official UEFA Champions League debut against Lille. “I am very proud. It is such a great moment to extend my contract already at this amazing club. I am very thankful for the club and (youth) coaches who trained me. I want to pay them back now on the field. My next goals? I want to become champions, win the cup and come far in the UEFA Champions League. We have to go for all prizes this season again. And I want to show myself even more now in our beautiful shirt and stadium.” [Ajax TV, September 2019]

--

--

@AjaxYA

All our articles, stories and other content about Ajax’ Youth Academy collected here on Medium! — ‘Creating History with The Future’